1.1.11 – a new year of hope?

ok, i’d love to start off the new year with a positive outlook, with a boat load of hope for 2011, but it’s so hard to do that right now.  IF robs you of that as many of you fighting with IF know.  i guess there may be some type of transition going on in my head.   when i think of IVF and my future cycles it’s not all that positive….but, for some reason, when i think of adoption, i picture a baby to love that needs me whose mother was brave enough to carry and deliver and seek what is best for him/her.   but yet, i still can’t give up on treatment…maybe because we have those embryos that have some potential.  who knows.    

sometimes you need to laugh instead of cry, right?  i think of this often when i try and try and try and keep ending up with the short stick.  this is a dialogue between lloyd and mary from the movie “dumb and dumber”.  any of you remember this?  i think i may be like lloyd when it comes to my conversations with my RE. 

Lloyd: What do you think the chances are of a guy like you and a girl like me… ending up together?
Mary: Well, Lloyd, that’s difficult to say. I mean, we don’t really…
Lloyd: Hit me with it! Just give it to me straight! I came a long way just to see you, Mary. The least you can do is level with me. What are my chances?
Mary: Not good.
Lloyd: You mean, not good like one out of a hundred?
Mary: I’d say more like one out of a million.
[pause]
Lloyd: So you’re telling me there’s a chance… *YEAH!*

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 09:17:29

    I totally remember that conversation. LOL. My dh is also like Lloyd. He hears what he wants to and ignores the rest. I think we all just want a pregnancy SO badly that we will believe in any amount of hope.

    Reply

  2. LisainSK
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 10:11:18

    LOL!!! My DH and I loved these movies!! Love the IF twist to Dumb & Dumber…so true!!

    Reply

  3. Flygirl555
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 11:42:31

    What a funny analogy! This is so true…

    Yes, they are keeping me on the antihistamine protocol of prednisone, pepcid and claratin – I start a couple days after the FET. Also, they are adding Lovenox to this cycle. Maybe my last name should be Walgreen?

    Reply

  4. Cassie
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 14:42:14

    I hope 2011 will bring you all kinds of good things. I think it is a great idea to start wrapping your head around the adoption idea, while still holding on to the chance that you have with your remaining little embies.
    Check your email for a little something that J. put together to try to cheer you guys up after your latest setback.
    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  5. Lastchanceivf
    Jan 01, 2011 @ 17:58:24

    Hi! You can certainly link me here no problem:)

    I know how hard it is to be straddling both worlds of adoption and ART at the sane time. When we did our fifth ivf (2 at ccrm) we called it our plan b and adoption our plan a. It helped during the rough parts of the ivf but we still had to get thru a lot before we could push forward with the adoption fully.

    Hoping for the very best for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

