My Best Friend…

….is daisy mae.  she and i are really tight.  we don’t speak the same language, but we have a language of our own.  she is my 10 yr, soon to be 11 yr  old yellow lab.  her birthday is feb 19.  you’ve probably seen pictures of her in posts or on ivfconn before, but in case you haven’t here she is:

she knows me like no one else.  i picked her from the litter because she responded to me from the beginning, running between my legs and playing with me when she was only 6 wks old.  she was with me when i bought my first house by myself.   she and i went for walks everyday before work and when i got home.  she has been through a lot with me.  she dressed up for our wedding.  she was there when dh moved in.   she was there when we looked for our new house.  she was there when we had family get togethers.  she was there when i came home from stressful days at work.  she was there when my dad died.  she was there through my every iui, ivf, bfp, bfn, m/c, you name it.  you get the picture, she is always there.  she is laying next to me right now and we will be going for a walk soon with my mom and her dog, susie.  here they are by my mom’s pool.

 

she has started to get little skin growths recently.  i ended up getting one of them aspirated and tested.  it came back with “unusual cells” detected and immediate removal is recommended.  they are most concerned with squamous cell carcinoma.  she had blood drawn yesterday to make sure she can handle the anesthesia, being an older girl and all.  it may be just excision and monitoring, but, you always think the worst, you know.  so, now we wait and see.  

i hope that she is fine because i need her.  i’m not a crazed dog person, but i do need her.  i need her to help me get through the family making part of my life.  don’t get me wrong,  i have the most wonderful dh (who really is my best friend, but best human friend) and a wonderful mom and family, but i don’t know how i would handle disappointment without her.  i’ve gone through the worst times of my life in the past 6 yrs or so and some days just having her to hug and hold has been the ONLY thing that got me through.  i want her to meet my child, bio or adopted.  i want her to lick his/her face.  i want her to be there…..because she is THE BEST!!!   she is as sweet as they come.  here’s another picture from a while back in case you haven’t seen enough….she likes getting dressed up for halloween.  🙂 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 13:29:28

    Daisy Mae is super cute, I hope she is better soon.

    Reply

  2. MyTwoLines
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 17:13:49

    You are so in my head…I have a similar post that I have not finished about my dogs and how they have gotten me through so much and I need them to meet the babies….but we just don’t know if they will…one turns 14 on the 14th if this month and the other is anywhere from 12 to 16 (rescue so we aren’t sure of her age). I sincerely hope your sweet DaisyMae is just fine and has many more years left with you!

    Reply

    • hoping4family
      Feb 06, 2011 @ 21:43:09

      mytwolines – i knew i liked you! 😉 i hope your two dogs get to meet your two babies!

  3. Cassie
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 21:53:15

    Oh she is so adorable! I love the Halloween costume. I will be keeping fingers crossed that her tests come back normal. I totally know how you feel, as we had that bad health scare with my old black cat last April. Right now he is trying to walk on my keyboard as I write this, still making trouble. I hope Daisy Mae will be by your side for quite a while longer!

    Reply

  4. Patience
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 19:10:44

    Keeping sweet Daisy in my heart. My Patches has some issues too- but is unable to handle surgery. (She had the same blood work, and it didn’t come back good a few years ago) Hoping that she is on the mend very soon!

    Reply

  5. flygirl555
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 19:11:28

    Thanks for sharing how special Daisy Mae is to you. We have two older labs too (my female is 15 1/2 and my male is 12) that have been our “babies” throughout our marriage – so I am sure I understand how close you feel to Daisy Mae. My male had to have some “lumps” removed this past summer (they were non-cancerous, so the vet advised we wait until they looked like they started to bother him) – so I understand how scary it is when you have to put an older dog under anesthesia. Has your vet recomended to clean her teeth at the same time? (we were glad we asked our vet about this because who knows if he can ever go under again).

    You’ve inspired me to do a post on my pups – so I promise to do one soon!

    Best of luck – KUP! We’ll be thinking of Daisy Mae!

    Reply

  6. Trackback: A Blog Award – For Me? « hoping4family

Leave a Reply

