Welcome Home

Today I welcomed our little embryo home. 

Dr. S came into the room and said “did you have a talk with your uterus” and I said that I was just doing that.  (In hindsight, I think he meant did I talk to it to get that good lining.   At first I thought it meant to get ready for the transfer.) 

It was #8 from our 11/09 cycle.  It was a normal day 6 3BA.  It was fully expanded, 100% cell retention, and Dr. S said it was a good looking embryo.    I said, “let’s go, little #8, come on home”.  Dr. S said “you will have to call him something else once he is born”.    He was jovial today.    He also measured the back of my uterus (5cm) and then they pulled back to the right location for transfer (3cm I think).  He said my uterus was long for a unicornuate.  I guess that’s good….anything bigger than normal for a UU has to be better.

I think they lightened up on how full your bladder needs to be because they let me pee a little beforehand (actually a lot…a whole cupful; I had been overzealous with the water intake).  I didn’t even need a bed pan this time.  I was comfortable.  More comfortable than I am now….my back aches when I lay down too long. 

We had a little drama though last night.  I thought I booked the Home.wood Suites near Park Mea.dows.  But, somehow when I called I must have gotten transferred to the one in Littlet.on and didn’t realize it (when they said the name upon answering the phone).  So we show up there late last night, around 11pm, and there is a construction fence around it.  You can imagine the F-bombs from my DH.  So, I called the number I had, putting 2+2 together and realized it was a different one.  It was 25 mins away, west on 490 towards the mountains.  We stayed there last night but then since my transfer wasn’t until 1130 today, we had time to change.  We are now in Elem.ent.  It’s a West.in extended stay right on Park Mead.ows Drive.  It is pretty nice.  It’s very modern and very clean.  So far so good.  I just wish I could check it out, but they didn’t have that on the list of things you can do on bedrest. 

So, here I wait.  I’m reading, playing Gin with DH, watching movies, wishing the time away.    I’m reading that book…Hea.ling Mind, He.athy Woma.n.  Nothing I don’t already know so far, but maybe it will be good to try to get into that zen state.   Om.  Right now I’m in a field of sweet smelling flowers and there is a Mountain in the background and chirping birds and all is good.  Well, just got interrupted…DH is back with dinner….chow time!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. soulshine
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 09:02:37

    hurray! i feel the same way about the embryos… giving them their home. i am so glad the embryo thawed nicely and your uterus is extra long and looking good, and that dr.sch did the transfer… it all sounds great. glad you are comfortable at the element, i hope you are content during the bed rest, and will make it home safely. times like these i wish i was a pray-er, so all i can do is tell you how very much i am hoping and wishing that this works this time. take care!

    Reply

  2. R
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 09:36:35

    This post makes me happy. It sounds as though everything worked out perfectly! Good luck.

    Reply

  3. MyTwoLines
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 11:51:50

    That sounds like a wonderful transfer!!! Hoping this is it for you!!

    Reply

  4. elliej
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 13:20:17

    Well done you. You trusted your instincts and look how far you’ve come. I really like the sound of your blast! Hoping that this is home for your lovely 3BA for the next 9 months xxx

    Reply

  5. Cassie
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 17:53:12

    I’m so excited for you and am sending sticky vibes!

    That sucks about the hotel, although I had seen on the boards that the Homewood was closed for repairs. I’m glad you were able to change to something closer. I’ve heard the Element is nice.

    Are you having 3 Mar.garita’s while you are there? DH and I still talk about how much we love that place, so if you have some, think of us!

    Big hugs!

    Reply

  6. Flygirl555
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 19:58:40

    Hooray for your embies coming home! Glad your transfer went great! When do you fly home? Any chance we can meet up? I work close to Park Meadows – so if you’re up for it maybe I could swing by your hotel tomorrow?

    Reply

  7. Patience
    Mar 27, 2011 @ 11:47:39

    Thinking nothing but positive thoughts for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

