Beta Results – Nervous

Hi..just a quick post because I am very nervous right now. 

My beta came back at 87. 

I was hoping for over 100.  I have been here before and had things go south, but not with a normal.  That fact is still not reassuring to me.  Also, my pee stick was barely darker today than yesterday.  My gut is sick.  I know I have to get a hold of myself, but if you scour the internet, many people say the initial beta should be over 100 for viability. 

Plus, I have been having lower abdomen cramps like my AF is coming all day, almost continuously.  The cramps are low, too…about 2-3 inches from my belly button on the left side (I have a left unicornuate uterus).  I’m wondering all kinds of things right now.  Any thoughts or experiences you can share?

I didn’t get P4 results.  They didn’t have them yet, but it’s getting late in the day, so I’m hoping the lab actually analyzed my blood for that.  I know the lady at the clinic typed that into the instructions (if positive, add progesterone).   I’ll update with those later.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisainSK
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 18:43:37

    Hoping…I want to give you a big hug. I can’t guarantee that all will be okay…BUT my first beta was an 82. My little 82 is now kicking in my tummy at 24w1d pregnant. I had the P4 rollercoaster from hell as well. We are also CCRM patients and transfered a CCS tested normal embie as well. My POAS’s were barely visible especially at 7dp5dt…in fact I garbaged that POAS as I could not see the line. DH pulled it out of the garbage and convinced me otherwise. I want to share my story with you as a source of comfort. I am holding you in my prayers…

    Reply

  2. elliej
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 18:58:17

    I hope Lisa’s story has given you some reassurance Daisy. I read somewhere recently on a CCRM board of a 28 beta that became a viable pregnancy. I have to say I do think your beta is solid – isn’t the thing they look out for the doubling (or close to doubling) at next beta rather than the number? And if CCRM looking for over 50 clearly they see that as a sound benchmark. Wishing you peace of mind xxxx

    Reply

  3. R
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 19:48:03

    Daisy- I always had the same thoughts as you, beta over 100 is good, BUT I now know many stories (including mine and Lisainsk) that had a beta in the 80s or lower become viable. I know it is SO much easier said then done, but try and keep faith until Saturday’s test.

    I had those cramps pretty much the entire first T. Thinking of you!

    Reply

  4. Cassie
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 21:52:38

    I can’t imagine how nerve-wracking this must be. I am nervous along with you, but really hope that you are going to have a story like Lisa and R. I will be keeping everything crossed, and you in my thoughts!

    Reply

  5. MyTwoLines
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 23:01:13

    I think you can have lots of hope! One of my good friends just transferred a eSET of a CCS normal embryo (she’s not at CCRM, but at RMA) and her initial beta was 87, exactly like you, I kid you not. She saw faint lines prior but not super dark and was convinced it didn’t work. But she just had her ultrasound and saw a HB and all seems well. Just hold on tight for the next beta and we’ll all hope for a nice doubling!

    Reply

  6. Flygirl555
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 06:08:08

    I agree with everything that’s been said so far.

    Betas are strange things – some women have off-the-chart betas and see only one bean when it comes time for the u/s and others have very low betas and it ends up being twins. Also, every pregnancy tends to be different. Just because a woman might have had a high beta last time doesn’t mean it’s going to be high this time. You just can’t tell much based on one beta number alone.

    If you look at the beta base for 14 dp transfer, you are well within the range for the majority of women who have had successful pregnancies:

    http://www.betabase.info/showDailyData.php?type=basic&multiples=Single&dpo=14

    Will you be testing again on Saturday?

    As always, my fingers are crossed for you!

    Reply

  7. boshkunggirl
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 10:06:07

    I refer you to the blog site sparkly things distract me….her story might be quite inspiring and provide some reassurance that, you just never know…

    Reply

  8. Kelley
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 13:03:10

    I just started reading recently….I am so glad you got a BFP 🙂

    That said, we have severe male factor and have a son and daughter from IVF. With my son my beta was 67 and doubled every 2 days and with my daughter it was 87 and doubled every 2 days…they need at least a 60 percent rise every 48-72 hrs according to my RE. My son just turned 2 and my daughter is almost 10 months.

    I hope that gives you a small measure of comfort.

    Reply

  9. soulshine
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 15:29:26

    woah!
    i am late to this party!

    i am so happy to see these updates… don’t know what i was thinking but i forgot to check in, dub!

    i have only ever heard the beta benchmark to be 50, not 100. plus, you have ONE beautiful embryo taking up residence in there, so you have to forget about all those 200’s and 300’s… if you saw it in that range you would be worried about it having split!

    i will remain hopeful, i think there is every reason to… of course, the fact is that this time of the process is so scary and its so damn hard to have hope in general… but i have hope for you!

    the cramping is normal, your uterus is sensing something’s up, and all uterus’s do that! very unnerving, but try to see it as a normal expected thing (ha! yeah right!).

    i want this for you so badly! so glad that you are off to a good start, and looking forward to your beta tomorrow (…if you feel like sharing!).

    give daisy a pat from me 🙂

    Reply

  10. PBJmom
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 16:59:45

    Congrats!!! So happy to see your news. I agree with soulshine–while you of course will have the early of nervousness, I don’t think there should be Amy “extra” due to your beta. 87 is perfectly good for an eset. You are pregnant!!!

    Reply

  11. PBJmom
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 17:01:03

    Somehow my comment got screwed up. I meant to say “early nervousness of pg”. Darn iPhone autoreplace.

    Reply

  12. Babydreams
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 20:33:54

    Congratulations! You are pregnant!!!!
    Of course the second beta test is very frustrating but anything over 50 is promising according to my ing nurse!
    Praying and thinking of you!!

    Reply

  13. Babydreams
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 20:36:36

    I meant IVF nurse. Sorry!
    Just so excited for you:) good luck tomorrow!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

