Signs of Spring

I am pleased to announce that we will have the fortunate honor of hosting several births this spring! 

I was working in the front yard with DH on Sunday and noticed this on my front door wreath.  I was in awe of this as I’ve never seen anything like it in all my years.

So, over the next few days, DH and I were just checking now and then to see if anything showed up there, mama or her eggs.  We didn’t know what type of bird it was, but had our opinions.  

On Tuesday when I came home from work, I noticed one egg, then on Wednesday, a second egg, then on Thursday, a third egg.   So, this morning, I opened the inside door gingerly, excited to see what was in there, and mama flew to the nearby tree.  She was cackling at me a little, but I didn’t open the glass storm door.  I took this shot from within my house through the glass just holding the camera up high and shooting down. 

The nest is perfect, and if you look close in the picture above, you can see the mud she put up against the glass to make the nest stay in place.  Our house faces the south so the location gets warmed by the sun all day.  Plus, the house extends out on the west side, so the door is protected from the wind from the west.  This mama really knows how to pick a good spot!  See below:

Getting back to the nest….tonight I noticed a 4th egg.  I thought I’d try to go around the front and take a shot from the other side, being careful not to touch anything.  Mama would kill the babies if she could smell my scent.  So, I’m walking up my front walk towards the steps, I look up and see her in there warming her unborn kin.   I stopped dead in my tracks, about 15 feet away.  She didn’t move at all.

I then decided to do some work in my front beds since it’s going to rain tomorrow.  She flew back and forth from that ornamental pear tree (shown in other pic) a few times, seemingly unaffected by us being there.  But, I bet she was watching us that whole time.  Daisy was with me…she heard her fly back and forth and didn’t bark or anything.  I told mama not to worry, that we wouldn’t touch them, and that they are welcome here.  (I know, I’m weird.) 

I’m very excited about this!  I’ve shown these pictures to several people at work and my entire family.   I was so surprised to see that even the guys at work were interested.  DH is psyched about it…it’s like their our little extended family.  I may even get an inexpensive motion sensitive video camera to see if I can film the births from inside through the glass.  It would be neat to see them hatch.  It takes 12-14 days for them to hatch from the day they are laid and then they are in the nest for 12-14 days to wean from mama before they fly off.   I have about 5 days or so to figure out what I am going to do to film them.   Maybe I’ll be ready for Nat.ional Geo.graphic soon, eh?   

I used to look at stuff like this like it was a good sign, that somehow the universe or God is trying to tell me that I will be a mother soon.  I’ve stopped thinking those things.  I have a stone I found in CO that has a “+” on it….I kept it and display it in my bathroom.  I’m about to throw that in the woods.   But, not really in a defeatist way, just in a move-on kind of way.  I’ve looked at many “signs” over the course of 6 years, but none of them turned out.  I even had a dream that I had 3 adopted baby girls and then after I did that, we had a bio baby.  I was holding her up to the sky like the papa on The Lio.n Kin.g did, and there was a white light.  It was weird.  I know that can still come true, but I’m losing faith.  The reason I held on to that for so long was that I had a similar dream when trying to decide to marry DH.  I saw a white light and my DH’s face was in the middle, like God was trying to tell me something.  So, I’m letting go of these preoccupations with “signs” and just letting things be. 

I’ve thought of how we may view this happening…what an infertile or fertile may think about the Robin making a nest on their front door:

  • The newly discovered infertile:  “How cool is that…she’s got 4 eggs, maybe it’s a sign I’ll get 4 good embryos this cycle.”
  • The  2-3 year infertile:  “This has to be a sign.  I’ve been waiting so long, this is my time, it’s got to be.”
  • The 4-5 year infertile:  “Even the birds are throwing it in my face that I can’t get pregnant!!!”
  • The resolved infertile, still waiting to be a Mom:  “That is just so beautiful.”, smiling inside and shedding a tear about how motherhood would be.
  • The pregnant infertile:  “Aw”, rubbing the baby bump proudly (and very deservedly so I might add).
  • The fertile:  “Get that thing out of here, it’s gonna bring germs and ticks and now we can’t even use the front door!” (sorry if this is harsh to any fertile reading this, but my best friend with 4 kids sort of had that response.)

With that, I’ll share some other signs of spring…

This is my “twin” pink tulip.  This may be less common than actual twin pregnancies.

Bee in center of ornamental pear tree (hand-held so a little blurry) – is it pollinating or getting nectar? 

Pansies are for welcoming, so I welcome your comments and thoughts as always (especially if you have a good tip on a motion sensitive camera)! 😉

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fateofthechocolatechipcookies
    May 06, 2011 @ 22:36:52

    Haha, great signs for you! 😉 I think the same with my own aquatic pets. I kept telling them that I want it to be my turn sometime soon. Wishing the best for you! Lovely pictures by the way. Gotta love Spring!

    Reply

  2. MyTwoLines
    May 07, 2011 @ 00:17:52

    I used to look for signs everywhere too. Then I started feeling ridiculous.
    I like your little chart for interpretation, so true!
    Your photos are lovely.

    Reply

  3. Pearl
    May 07, 2011 @ 11:25:49

    Oh my, I fit the profile for the 4-5 year infertile. I guess I need to go have my Prozac 🙂

    Those are beautiful pictures, thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  4. PBJmom
    May 07, 2011 @ 16:04:29

    Beautiful pictures!

    Reply

  5. LisainSK
    May 08, 2011 @ 09:11:52

    Love the story Daisy…your grace is so inspiring! Keep us updated on the Robins Family!!

    Reply

  6. Patience
    May 09, 2011 @ 22:03:19

    What an amazing story! Love the photos, and can’t wait to hear about the baby birds!

    Reply

  7. flygirl
    May 14, 2011 @ 21:12:48

    I agree…I think this is a wonderful sign! We had a nest in one of our hanging baskets several years ago and it was amazing to take down the nest or stand on a stool every few days to see the babies. Eventually, the babies got so big that they filled the entire nest. One day, when I went to peek, they simply flew away and I never saw them return. I hope the momma bird appreciated my “help” to boot them out of the nest. Ha!

    Love the other pics too! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

