New Worry

Since I was married in 2005, there has been one major thing to overcome after another.  Unfortunately, none of this is letting up. 

They found a small lump in my Mom’s breast and it is cancerous.  We go on Wednesday for a surgical consult.  My Mom says that they will tell her more that day in terms of the stage and what is recommended for removal. 

I am really nervous.  My Mom has been her usual strong self.  She hasn’t let this waiting time get to her.  I have.  I am doing much better than when I first found out, mainly because I think I am subconsciously feeding off her calmness.   We’ve heard others’ stories, but she says, “that’s them” and wants to wait to see what the doctor says about her case. 

I wanted to write a post about my Mom a while back, but said I’d do it later.  I’m going to wait on that because now, with this new information, it would seem like it’s coming from a sad place, rather than a happy place.

I wish life’s challenges would let up for me/us.  I know everyone wishes that…and I know it’s all relative.  But, it’s just so hard to stay above water when you are constantly getting pushed back down.  But, every time I get negative or start to worry, I try to focus on how she is still a role model for me, even when things are hard for her.  

All we can do is hope and pray and wait.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MyTwoLines
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 09:40:33

    Oh hon…I’m so sorry about this new worry …I know how hard it is to have a parent with health issues. I will hope for a good prognosis and no spreading and an easy course of treatment. Hugs and prayers for you and your mom.

    Reply

  2. LisainSK
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 09:49:29

    Oh no!! Thinking of you and hoping for the BEST possible news at your mom’s upcoming meeting!

    Reply

  3. Pearl
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 15:16:44

    I’m sorry about the bad news. I’ll be praying for good results and sending you hugs and good thoughts.

    Reply

  4. Patience
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 16:34:07

    Thinking of you and mom. I am hoping for nothing but good results.

    Reply

  5. Cassie
    Aug 08, 2011 @ 16:41:46

    I’m so sorry to hear about your mom. My thoughts will be with you all this week.
    Big hugs.

    Reply

  6. soulshine
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 22:53:13

    that is terrible news, and i hope that you have since had some more information. how scary for all of you. i will be thinking of you and your mom, hoping for the best possible scenarios of healing for her.

    one thing i have learned is that even when this life continually throws so many ‘downs’ at you, and hardly any ‘ups’, the fact is that there exists in you the strength and ability to survive and push thru even the most terrible things. you have shown this strength in yourself, and i hope it can help you during this very scary time with your mom’s health. its not like it makes anything any better, but at the very least it takes you form one day to the next, one day at a time… and there will be ‘ups’ again for you, daisysmom. you may be in a deficit right now, but the ‘ups’ will come again.

    you’ll be in my thoughts. has there been any updates for her since you posted this last week?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

