This and That

I’ve been a bit consumed by my Mom’s diagnosis lately, as can be expected.  We’ve had two meetings with the doctor.  The lesion is small (0.5 cm) and the doctor is saying, clinically, that it’s stage 1A.  The doctor seems to really know her stuff and she does an excellent job explaining everything to us.  She gave kudos to the radiologist who found it.  She said when they are that size they can be overlooked.  So, thank God (actually, the radiologist) for that!   We are nervous, but keeping it in check until we know the results of the lymph tissue, etc.  She will get the tumor and two lymph nodes out on the 30th (tentatively) then will need radiation for 6 wks following (and they will be adding hormone therapy).  Of course, this changes if they find anything in the lymph nodes.   So, fingers crossed and saying prayers.  I’ve been getting on my knees for this one!

On the adoption path, we went for our finger prints last week.  I kept setting off alarms in the machine because for some reason it seemed to think my initial 5 finger scan didn’t match some of the individual ones.  It’s funny how you get nervous when you are setting off alarms in the police station.  But, the officer said it’s common.  I thought my husband would have a hard time because he has working hands and his fingers are so tight and overworked that I wondered if he’d have fingerprints at all.  Well, his went smooth with no alarms.   The machine showed a list of other names who had their prints done.  I asked the officer how it all works…and he explained how our name would pop up once we were cleared from the national repository of prints (forgot where and what he called it).  Then he scrolled through the list of names and showed me how our name would pop up…and how it would look if there was a problem.  I was surprised that he allowed us to see it….there were first and last names…so much for privacy I guess.  

I finished my autobiography.  For those of you who’ve done this, you’ll understand what I mean.  It took me over 5 hrs total to do this and I was very emotional.  I guess mainly because I lost my Dad and in describing my upbringing I was going through all those wonderful memories I have of him.  But, also, it’s hard to answer some of the questions (they gave us questions as a guide) about how you got to adoption, how you see yourself raising an adopted child, etc.  I also had to talk about my adolescence, school, relationships with friends and family throughout the years, how I met my hubby and our strengths and weaknesses….and of course, I threw in a shout out to my daisymae!   The “area where we may need work” for my husband and I was about time spent working on things separately.  I wrote about my husband’s time working on the boat….it worked twofold…I showed her that I although I think we have a wonderful relationship, I wasn’t unrealistically saying there weren’t some differences that need work.  I also was able to remind him again of what I think….Saturdays can be for work but Sunday is family time.  He’s ok with that….unless the giant tuna are in! 

I’m rambling, but I guess that I’m just pouring out my thoughts as they come.  I just learned that one of my IF friends had her twins and I’m so happy for her!  I’m so happy when someone struggles then gets that happy ending.  It’s like MTL or rb-.k or soul.shine or flyg.rl or cas.sie…..guess I could go on and on.  I know that you guys also think of me and look forward to the day when I’m running around after my little one.   I will also be here for those still moving towards their happy ending!

Lastly, if anyone reads this and is pursuing domestic infant adoption, please share your thoughts/ experience with national adoption agencies.   Or if anyone has actually done GC or has a contact who has, please let me know.  I want to physically talk to someone who actually did it, not just via emails or bulletin boards on the internet.  If you have info you want to share, leave me a post and I will send you my contact info.  Thanks!

 

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 22:04:50

    I have been thinking of you and your mom since your last post. Thank goodness the radiologist was so thorough, it sounds like she is excellent hands. I will be hoping for the best.

    I don’t have any info on a pregnancy with a GC, but do I know a lot about choosing an agency, finding a carrier and the screening process of CCR.M. Always willing to answer any questions as they arise.

    Reply

  2. Cassie
    Aug 17, 2011 @ 22:25:46

    Yes, you are right – we are always here rooting for you too! I can’t wait to hear more about the adoption process, and for you to finally join us in the mama club. DaisyMae should write you a recommendation – she knows what a good mama you already are!

    I’ll also be thinking about your mom and a speedy recovery for her.

    Reply

  3. soulshine
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 22:47:20

    omg, i cannot wait until the day you are chasing around your little one, daisysmom… just thinking of that image makes me so wistful that it would just happen NOW for you! you have waited so long and are so ready! i agree with cassie, daisy should paw out a recommendation, because she knows best of what a good mama you are and will be.

    i wish there was something i could do i terms of helping with info one the gc and/or adoption front… i know one woman who i will email to see if she can contact you, about gc stuff.

    also,
    that is very encouraging news about your mom’s health and a plan! get that thing out! so thankful they found it early on like this. very good news (in context, not good that it is indeed small and there is a treatment plan, not good that it is there in the first place…). i will be thinking of you both.

    i love how you describe your husband’s working hands… hey- the day that you guys bring home your child is the day that sundays are family time, no matter how big the tuna are! sorry charlie, lol!

    thanks for updating!

    Reply

  4. Pearl
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 00:44:38

    Great news regarding your mom, it seems that she is in good hands and I pray that the treatments work and she can be rid of this disease. Thank you for all the details. Writing about oneself is never easy, I suppose, but I guess it feels even worse when someone might be making major decisions based on what you write.

    Reply

  5. MyTwoLines
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 14:57:28

    I’m so glad for the thorough radiologist! I hope you continue to get the best news possible in this situation.
    I don’t have any advice on the domestic adoption front but you know we ALL WANT you to have your happy ending SOON! I won’t be happy until you do 🙂

    Reply

  6. fate0fthecookie
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 19:20:48

    Thinking of your mom and sending prayers along the way!

    Reply

  7. Patience
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 19:33:59

    Thank you for the sweet comment on my blog.

    You are always in my thoughts. It often seems that we’ve been on parallel paths through all of this. I hope and pray that we will both find our miracles very soon. I am also so glad that your mom is in such good hands. I will keep you close in thought as well.

    We are considering signing with an agency that just does the marketing/match aspect that is a national agency but is actually local to us here. They are affiliated with the agency that did our homestudy. (That agency does not do matching.) It is a huge sum of money to commit to the process, and I am having a hard time taking the leap of faith. But I am getting closer and closer to taking that leap.

    Thinking of you, my friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

