Still Hanging On

We got good news today. 

We saw and heard the heartbeat (109 bpm).  I measured 6w4d, which is exactly where I assumed based on my dates for LMP and O.   The doctor said the size and heartbeat are exactly where I should be.

I’m very happy but also very reserved.  The doctor who did the US was my former RE, prior to going to C.CR.M.  I have seen him during my monitoring also.   I really like him….and the therapist who ran my Group goes to his office weekly, so I had told her to tell him I said hi every now and then.   Once I got this news, I called on his office for support and they got me right in.  When I had the first US (at 5w1d) they only saw the sac and he said, due to my high beta, that they should have seen more, so he questioned the viability.  Then I had the good betas.  So, I went in there today and you could tell that they were happy to see me.  One of the nurses told me “miracles do happen” and as we waited to go in, I was getting more and more nervous…like, don’t put that pressure on me.  So, they started the scan and it seemed to take an eternity before he uttered anything, as I was staring at him hoping for a facial expression (none)..then he said “we have a pregnancy with a heartbeat”.   I had some tears.  He measured everything, at first we didn’t get a read on the heartbeat, so he went back near the end and he was able to clearly measure it.  He gave me a picture.

We talked for a while with him after.  He is ordering me weekly US’s for the next two weeks…he said, “you could go longer, but if I know you, you’ll want more frequent scans”.  So, I have my next one next Tue and then the Tue after that.  I also have to set up an appt with an OB (I have one recommended to me).  I asked him about the spotting and he said there is a chance, due to my high betas, that I had a vanishing twin.  Who knows.  He’s not concerned about the spotting.  I asked about testing my hormone levels and he said that was not necessary.  I will up my folic acid though.  I am taking a prenatal, but I have heterozygous MTHFR and throughout treatment I had been taking 4 mg folic acid as a precaution.  He said that I should take the extra. 

Another hurdle passed, whew, but I am terrified!  I don’t want to get attached. 

Thank you all for your support and good wishes!  It means so much to me to know that you are here to cheer me on.  I’ll be a basket case I’m sure, but for tonight I’m going to curl up on the couch with Daisy with DH by our side and watch our favorite Thursday shows.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 18:31:18

    Relieved, excited and crying happy tears. Welcome to my small club!

    Reply

  2. PBJmom
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 18:34:31

    Tears over here in CA. Yay!!!

    Reply

  3. Kelley
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 18:53:45

    Wonderful news! I am so excited and happy for you

    Reply

  4. soulshine
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 19:02:40

    hurray! i am so happy you saw a h/b!!!! beautiful!
    thank you so much for updating so soon, too… i was checking in all day!

    what about baby aspirin? for mthfr?

    is it this upcoming tuesday for the next u/s, or the following one?
    i will be thinking of you constantly! not in a weird way, but in a hopeful, happy way!

    Reply

  5. Cassie
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 19:58:50

    Tears here in NYC as well! DH reminded me to come over and check – I’m so glad to see this good news. We will be keeping everything crossed for you. Yes, miracles really do happen, as we know from R too! Hooray!

    Reply

  6. LisainSK
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 21:33:27

    Oh…..oh……I am RELIEVED with this news as well. One day at a time!!! Thinking of you and PRAYING this little one keeps hanging on!!

    Reply

  7. Rose
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 22:33:26

    YEA! Amazing news! I’m so happy for you guys.

    Reply

  8. conniec
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 01:41:37

    Wow Daisysmom that’s wonderful news! Been somewhat absent from the boards etc but so happy for this!

    Connie/sp08 from IVFC

    Reply

  9. MyTwoLines
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 08:08:56

    This is such incredible news!! So happy for you!

    Reply

  10. Holly TH
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 09:46:44

    How wonderful to know there is a heartbeat! I pray that everything continues to go well for you. You mention that you will be taking extra folic acid for your MTHFR. You might want to ask your doctor about L-methylfolate. Women with the MTHFR polymorphism have a limited ability to break down synthetic folic acid (the type found in enriched foods and most vitamins) into its active form, L-methylfolate. I work with NeevoDHA, a prenatal specifically indicated for women with MTHFR. It contains already broken down L-methylfolate as an alternative to synthetic folic acid. It increases blood folate levels more effectively than folic acid. It is just something simple and safe you can do to be certain folate deficiency is not an issue for you, particularly with your MTHFR.

    It is great that you will be able to have weekly ultrasounds for peace of mind. It sounds like you have a very caring doctor who wants you to feel safe and secure. Best of luck for a happy, healthy pregnancy!

    Reply

  11. Flygirl555
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 11:27:31

    Thanks for the update! I’ve got Colorado covered with the crying tears of happiness for you! A heartbeat is a great sign!

    Can’t wait for the next update on Tuesday! C’mon little one – Fight, Fight, Fight!

    Reply

  12. aworre
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 12:27:25

    Just wanted to say how happy I was when I caught up on your blog and saw this wonderful news! Will be praying for you and this little miracle!

    Reply

  13. Anonymous
    Dec 03, 2011 @ 21:03:15

    Wow!!! I just thought I’d check in on you and what Amazing news! Hold on tight – I know what a wild ride it is… please let me know if you need someone to talk to on the way. So happy for you!!! I’ll be praying for smooth sailing for you for the next 8 months!

    Reply

  14. soulshine
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 09:58:41

    daisysmom,
    thinking of you! i am just assuming that you are worried/stressed about what’s going on in there, so i just wanted to let you know i am thinking of you. i really hope you see nice growth on tuesday! one day at a time…

    Reply

  15. soulshine
    Dec 06, 2011 @ 19:04:13

    just checking in on you today…
    hope you are doing alright…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

