Still Growing and Mom

My mom had her last chemo today.  She is so happy about that.  She will feel tired through Christmas time, but then after that, every day she will feel better and better and will be able to get back to her normal self.  She will be going through radiation for 6 wks or so starting in Jan, but that shouldn’t affect how she feels from an energy standpoint.   It felt good to go there today with her knowing that this was it. 

Even with that and preparations for Christmas, etc, I am consumed by what is going on with me, both mentally and physically.  But, nausea and tiredness have taken a bit of the edge off of my nerves.   We had another US today at what would be 8w1d and I measured 8w6d and had a heartbeat of 164 bpm.  The doctor said she saw the baby move.  It’s pretty neat to see the head and feet, etc.  I’m still a bit reserved, mainly for self-preservation.  So is DH. 

I have to make an appt with an OB, so I called this afternoon and the receptionist told me that, for my particular doctor, I could either come in tomorrow or will have to wait until Jan 10 or so.  Say what?  I just had an US today, why go for another tomorrow?  And, if this new doctor has been prepped by my local RE and my new GYN, then why would I need to wait.  I somewhat verbalized that and then the receptionist told me to hold on.  She came back and said that my OB’s assistant was going to call me tomorrow.  I can see waiting until after Christmas, but Jan 10…no way. 

I am going to call my social worker this week and let her know what is going on.  I am going to level with her and see what she recommends doing with our home study (soon to be approved after we make some final decisions).  We know that the wait is long and we also know that this spontaneous pregnancy isn’t a guarantee.   At first DH didn’t want to tell her; he just wanted to move forward with an agency, etc.   But, after we talked, we both feel it’s best to let her know and go with her recommendation. 

I also called someone who I’ve been meaning to call (the daughter of a friend of my in-laws) who had adopted two children.  At approximately 1 week before I got pregnant I asked my MIL for the girl’s number so I could talk to her about agencies, etc.    She was great to talk to.  She said so many things that confirmed that being a mom through adoption is wonderful.  She would not change her family for one minute, even if she could go back and not have experienced infertility.  She and her husband feel so fulfilled in their family life and feel blessed.  She told me that I will get the baby(ies) I am meant to have…and I firmly believe that!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelley
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 19:18:08

    Glad to hear your ultrasound went well and your mom had her last chemo!

    Reply

  2. PBJmom
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 19:24:26

    Whoooooh! Great news!!!

    Reply

  3. R
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 19:45:44

    Great news all around!

    Reply

  4. MyTwoLines
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 21:07:25

    Awwww what a great thing to see your mom finish chemotherapy and your baby move!!

    Reply

  5. soulshine
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 21:41:06

    daisysmom,
    what a great update… so happy you saw good growth! for me making that ob appointment was a hard step, but you just have to keep moving forward, as if things are going to keep on happening. and i really am hoping (and then some…) that things keep on happening in this regard!

    i also think it is a good decision to tell the social worker. i mean, either way, whatever you decided to do would be fine, but it sounds like you are more comfortable telling and then see what they say. i think it will take some worrying away on that topic.

    and good news about your mom… knowing she is making a turn toward feeling better is a good feeling! i hope she continues the path to better health and feeling better.

    thinking of you!

    Reply

  6. Cassie
    Dec 13, 2011 @ 21:42:54

    Things sound like they are going so well! Have you told your mom that you are pregnant yet? I’m becoming more and more optimistic for you!

    Reply

  7. Flygirl555
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 11:42:55

    Daisy – This post makes me so happy!
    Good news all around! A few more weeks and you’ll be through the first trimester!

    Reply

  8. LisainSK
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 14:58:26

    Daisy…was thinking of you while on holidays. Keep the good news coming. Your cautious approach to this pg is TOTALLY normal!! One day at a time…and wow! 8 weeks already! Happy Holidays to you and your family…good news of your mom too. Hang in there.

    Reply

  9. soulshine
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 06:29:28

    daisysmom,
    hope your week went well… do you have another u/s this week? how are you doing?

    thinking of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

