Jumpin Jumpin

OK, I’m sorry, but I’m gonna hit you with this from the beginning.  I am falling in love.  I am having a hard time controlling it now.  I’m starting to get attached.  The fetus was jumpin all around today at my US.  Very, very cute.  He/She measured 11w3d, right on track, with a HB of 161 bpm. 

Saw a Maternal Fetal Medicine (MFM) doctor yesterday.  We talked for over 1.5 hrs.  I can’t remember the last time a doctor sat with me/us and talked with us for that long.  The RE’s are usually 15 mins max, the GP is usually 15-30 mins, my Mom’s oncologist was about 20 mins – even in her initial diagnosis consult, my dog’s vet is about 10-15 mins.  So, 90 mins is unimaginable.  He is in a group, so I may not always see him…but that doesn’t bother me.  The more the merrier, especially in my peculiar case. 

In a nutshell, he’s not concerned about the fibroid (says it increases risk of preterm labor by 1-2%), but is obviously concerned about my UU and my age.  There is nothing in literature that says that a woman with a UU, without any previous history of preterm labor, should get a cerclage.  There’s just not a lot of data out there on women with UU’s.  Some women do nothing, which we won’t do. The decision we need to make is if we will 1) have them (the MFM group) monitor my cervical length weekly starting at 16 wks and then determine from there if a cerclage is indicated, or 2) put the cerclage in now anyway.  There’s really no negatives in having it done, but there is a chance, low risk of course, of bleeding and infection.  Any thoughts on this would be appreciated as we are on the fence.  

Then we got into the chromosomal stuff.  At my age, now 42, I have a very high risk for a chromosomal abnormality, relatively speaking.  He asked us questions about our family histories, like they did at CC.RM when you met with the genetic counselor for the CGS testing.  He told us of a test they do now that is non-invasive, basically a blood test, that is new and can determine if the baby is affected with downs to a certainty of 99ish%.  So, what  I’m thinking of doing is the “Inte.grated Tes.t” which includes the Nucha.l Translucen.cy measurment and the bloodwork to get a rough idea on my risk factor, then if high for downs, maybe do the blood test.  I’m almost positive we will not do an amino or CVS. 

In the end, we discussed care and if I should be seen by his group and he basically said it’s up to me.  If I’m going to have the cervical length monitored, he suggested his group do that and that I continue to go to my OB for prenatal care.  Sometimes I wish these doctor’s could just give you the black and white.  I told him that I was wondering if he could tell me my risk for preterm labor, etc, based on the actual size of my UU and my cervical length right now (which supposedly is excellent) and he said there is no such thing.  Of course I knew there wasn’t, and I was half kidding, but you would think they’d have this stuff perfected now.  The other analogy he used is that it’s impossible to figure out what my UU will do.  He said that considering a woman carrying twins, some have issues and have preterm labor, others carry to full term.  It is purely a function of my anatomy and a little luck.

So that is where we are now.     Breathe, daisysmom, breathe!!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pearl
    Jan 05, 2012 @ 22:48:56

    Jumping baby! How exciting! I’m glad you could sit down with a knowledgeable doctor and explore all the options out there for you and that you are happy with your decisions. Peace of mind is what you need at this point more than anything else.

    Reply

  2. MyTwoLines
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 06:52:07

    That is so cute about the jumping…simply amazing! Glad you have a great peri too!

    Reply

  3. soulshine
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 07:12:13

    such a great update! (i’ll try to keep the smiles to a minimum this time…)

    but, 🙂

    seeing a jumping baby, yes, i think that is grounds for love! there is no point in trying to stamp out or deny that feeling- it is truly natural and expected- just let it be there, separate from all the other not-so-wonderful feelings like anxiety and worry, stress, fear, etc. all those emotions will be there and are normal, but the key is not to allow them to throw a shadow on that feeling of love- that is your beautiful maternal instinct and a reflection of what is going on in your body now. so happy you are feeling it, daisysmom! (i don’t mean to sound preachy, but i have some experience with this and that was my best summation of what i learned over the years).

    i would go with the mfm. have them take over your pregnancy. i can’t really convey to you how strongly i feel that way… there is nothing wrong with your ob, its just that mfm’s exist for situations like yours, when there is a little ‘ * ‘ next to your situation, they have the better eyes and ears to monitor the situation- i have seen this in action. so, if it isn’t a pain to see the mfm due to location or scheduling or whatever else, i hope you see the mfm from now on. i think that him seeing you for 1.5hrs is a great sign of care. so glad you went to talk to them!

    i have no experience with the cerclage. maybe ask on a forum for some personal experiences? if it were me, i’d just get it done and over with, by the mfm, who has done a lot of the procedures. knowing there is risk involved with a procedure is very tough, but i think the cerclage is a case where it is better to have it there than not.

    i will be thinking of you! have you done the nuchal measurement yet? i will be hoping so hard that you get great results back from the screening. things look very good so far… one day at a time.

    thank you so much for the update!

    Reply

  4. Kelley
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 12:29:41

    Yea for a jumping baby! 🙂

    I don’t have any experience with cerclage either but if it is low risk and would help give you peace of mind, that is definately a bonus.

    I am glad you have a practice that seems so willing to work with you.

    I did the first trimester screening with my son and daughter (IVF pregnancies) and this time with this pregnancy (naturally conceived.) I say do that an go from there.

    Glad to hear all is going well!

    Reply

  5. LisainSK
    Jan 07, 2012 @ 12:06:52

    Holy smokes!! 11 weeks already!! Fantastic! I think you are coming to a decision about the cerclage all on your own speed. I think for me, I’d put the cerclage in sooner rather than later. But that’s just me. Take care!!

    Reply

  6. Cassie
    Jan 08, 2012 @ 21:20:27

    This is so exciting! I am beyond thrilled for you. I agree with Soulshine and am so glad that you are seeing a MFM. It sounds like you will be in excellent hands. Hang in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

