Pop

Things are going OK over here now.   Two days after my cerclage I thought that I could have been “leaking fluid”, MFM doctor on call (who happened to be the one who put in the cerclage) assured me, via phone, that all was well.  Then later that day my OB called to see how I was and I told her that I wasn’t sure how to tell if the discharge was watery or jelly like.  She suggested I go in.  So we got ourselves together and trekked to the ER during a snowstorm (our 2nd only since Oct). The MFM doctor saw me and she did a paper test and then looked at some of the discharge under the microscope.  She assured us that I didn’t rupture a membrane.   That was pretty nerve-racking.   About 4 days later I had my followup appt and they checked again; all was well.   Since then, no drama, but still the worry.

I popped.  My belly can’t be denied now.  I only have one pair of regular pants that I can wear (they are stretch corduroys).  I took some of your advice on where to go.   I found some stuff at Ol.d Nav.y, Ta.rget, and Ma.cy’s (who has a Mother.hood Mat.ernity shop).   Got some decent pants and a few tops, but I need more tops.  Still skittish about going into the maternity department. 

I have an appt next week for a baseline cervical measurement via US.  My OB thinks it’s necessary, but the MFMs think I don’t need it.  They think I only need to start monitoring at week 20ish.  My OB is more conservative and I’m glad about that.   I also have to do the second part of the blood work to get my integrated test results (computed risk  based on blood work and the N.T scan).  I’m really nervous about that, more than the likelihood of being able to carry full term.  Trying to relax, but it’s so hard.

I went to the OB today; she also wanted to check my cerclage.  She checked for the HB with the doppler.  It worked this time.  Last time she checked with it, I was 13w and she told me that it’s hit or miss that early.  Today I am 15w3d.  It took her a while, but she found it….music to my ears.  It measured 150 bpm.   She said that the baby was moving around a lot so that is why it took so long.  I had been hoping that I’d get a US today and ate some candy beforehand (learned that was a trick to get them to move a lot).   But, no US.   😦

Anyone looking forward to the S.uperbowl?  I think it will be a great game.  My best friend is a Gia.nts fan (and a Yan.kee fan – bleh).   I hope the P.ats win or we will never hear the end of it!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. MyTwoLines
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 07:43:57

    Oh I am so happy–duh!–that it was not amniotic fluid! And yay for belly popping…you must post a pic 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cassie
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 18:57:59

    Such great news! I am really getting so excited for you. I hope you have a great weekend. And ditto on MTL – a pic would be lovely!

    Reply

  3. ebc
    Feb 09, 2012 @ 00:11:45

    just saying hi. hoping your UU is doing a most excellent job of being a great stretchy home to your little one still!

    Reply

  4. Heather
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 09:09:53

    Hi i’m Heather! I have a question for you! Please email me 🙂
    HeatherVonSJ[at]gmail[dot]com

    Reply

  5. soulshine
    Feb 11, 2012 @ 16:39:30

    hi daisysmom…
    i totally spaced commenting on this last week- i was so happy to see the post, i just selfishly read and forgot to write anything!

    another great post, things seem to be going fast now- i was surprised to see you at 15w already, and by now you must be 16w+… i am so happy for you.

    how did your appointment go this week? it really sounds like your OB is awesome. is there a long u/s planned soon? i hope you are doing well…

    sorry about the patriots! what a game! it really could have gone either way 😉

    feel free to update, and hello to sweet daisy-girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

