Short Cervix

I had a feeling this was going to happen.  It typically does with girls with a unicornuate uterus.  A short cervix.  Just for those comparing, I also had a cone biopsy a while back (but a shallow cut) and a D&C for a miscarriage which can contribute to an “incompetent” cervix.  So, I really don’t know if it’s the UU or a combination of the others as well.

I was having cramps last Sat.  I called the OB on call to get something to take because I thought it was gastric (gas or constipation).  Right away she suggested I go in to get checked out, considering I’m high risk with a UU.  She said it was important to check the cervix and make sure it’s closed, meaning that I wasn’t having preterm labor. 

So, off we went to the ER.  We were there 6 hrs.  Cervix was closed, cerclage looked good.  They did a detailed US (like a level II) and we got to see the little peanut wave his/her hand, show us a thumbs up, stomp his/her feet, etc.  I love the little arm, you can see the muscle tone and everything.  The ears stuck out a bit like DH’s…we had a few laughs with that.  The US tech was great and gave us a lot of attention.  The bad news was my cervical length was 1.5 cm.   The ER doctor told me that I should stay out of work until I can see my OB this coming Thursday.   Other discharge instructions were if the cramps got worse or if I had contractions to come back.  Otherwise, there is nothing else to do right now.

When we got home I decided to call the OB on call (from my group) to talk about work.  She felt that if I still had cramps on Sun that I should not go to work on Mon.  She also said she talked to a peri and that the peri (who happened to be the one who placed my cerclage) wasn’t that concerned about the 1.5 measurement (b/c of the cerclage) and thought it may not be accurate because it was taken on an empty bladder.   I asked the OB if I should call or go in if I get the cramps on Sunday and she said yes.

I had more cramping on Sun and decided to stay out of work on Mon.  I called the OB on Monday AM and ultimately decided to try to get an appt with the MFM group.   The way I figured this would work is that I had a Level II scheduled for 3/6.  If I could get that moved up then I could also see if they could help determine the source of the cramping and have them confirm the cervical length (as was the original plan by my OB – to have them measure my cervix).   After reviewing my case, considering the ER visit, they called me back and asked me to come in that morning.  DH came as well. 

They measured the cervix at 1.6cm and confirmed manually (ouch!) that I have about 1 cm between the cerclage and the end of the cervix.  The US confirmed the length to the uterus.  The peri noticed a localized contraction while I was there, but he said it’s nothing to worry about.   He said he was going to recommend that I stay off my feet and to possibly start on progesterone.  An OB from the office called me and said that I will start having weekly checkups, too, and also discussed the progesterone, etc.  They all seem to be waiting for my OB to come back and make the ultimate decisions.  I think it’s going to be bedrest at home for now.   Thursday can’t come soon enough.

As for the peanut, the peri said that he/she looks good structurally, measuring at 19w4d  and weighing 10 ounces.  Stay in there, peanut, please stay!!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Flygirl555
    Feb 28, 2012 @ 22:09:43

    Why can’t us women who struggle with infertility just have “normal” pregnancies? Can’t someone cut us a break?! It takes so much for us to get to this point, then we have to worry, worry, worry and worry some more. Daisy, I hope it’s nothing to be concerned about and that you get some good reading / movie watching / R&R done while you’re home. Please keep us posted. You’re in our thoughts…

    Reply

  2. soulshine
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 09:58:54

    thanks for the update, have been wondering how things were going for you!

    i guess if this was something that comes with the territory of uu, etc., it isn’t totally out of the blue, but still, you must be really stressing and scared. thank heavens you got that cerclage!! i hope that being on bedrest is something that will not be too inconvenient in terms of work and schedule, but if it has to be, it has to be. it is a big thought to become adjusted to, but that little one has to stay in there for 4-5 more months!

    i have some experience with bedrest- you’ll get used to it, there is plenty to do while resting in bed- it may be that you can even do some work for work. the good thing is that you are just *there*, gestating, letting that peanut grow… takes a lot of things out of the equation- takes a lot of work-related temptations off the table, in terms of over-doing it.

    also, it may be worth it, to start on 17p injections, to keep your uterus calm and quiet. my OB was on the fence about me using it, but there is no adverse effect, so we decided to use it and it made me feel like at least i was doing something to curtail any contractions, early labor. so, if your OB is on the fence about it, maybe you can sway them to just prescribe it (if thats what you want!).

    i wish there was something i could do for you! like, fast-forward time 🙂 if i lived closer, i would volunteer to help in any way you may need. do you have some local friends and family who can help out while you are on bedrest? take advantage of any help you can get, don’t be afraid or hesitant to ask for help, either- this is the most important thing ever! you need to stay in bed, stay hydrated, and let that little one grow. have a neighbor or friend walk daisy, do the grocery shopping, lift the heavy stuff, etc.

    i will be thinking of you, daisysmom… feel free to check in just to vent or write about other styuff too- it helps pass the hours in the day on bedrest!

    Reply

  3. Cassie
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 15:12:59

    It sounds like you are getting excellent medical care, and very good advice from the queen of bedrest too. I hope it won’t come to that, but of course if it does you will do a great job of keeping that little peanut in there. I am thinking of you guys and hoping for all the best. Keep us posted!

    Reply

  4. LisainSK
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 10:45:47

    Holding my breath right alomg with you Daisy….

    Reply

  5. MyTwoLines
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 11:31:50

    I am so sorry for this setback….I can only imagine the stress! It sounds like you are in good hands. Hang in there!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

