Counting to Viability

21w3d today…and counting to viability.  If we get to 24 weeks, we’ll have a little celebration, but it’s those weeks between 24 to 28 that matter.  30-32 weeks is my ultimate goal.   My cervix measured a little longer last week at 1.8cm (up from 1.6cm the previous week), but then today it was 1.4cm.  So, a little less than it was, but still some cervix between the uterus and cerclage.  I’m told to keep going as I am on modified bed rest. 

Some days it seems that the time flies by, but other days seem so long.  I’m glad to be able to work from home, although some days it seems too much.  The last few days I worked from 8ish to 6pm, on conference calls, reviewing documents, etc.  The good thing is those days seem to vaporize.  Add that to my Mom or Aunt or friend stopping by here and there, and before you know it, DH is home.  When I think of it in terms of where I am in the pregnancy, however, it seems to drag.  Like I almost feel like I’m 22 weeks because I want it to be here so bad.  I guess I’m always looking ahead. 

One thing I’ve been able to do is spend some quality time with Ms. Daisy Mae.  She can do some serious sleeping during the day.  Most time she takes up half the couch.  She is used to me being here now, I think.  Here’s a picture showing us last night on the couch.  I was in front of her and she decided to rest her head on me.  It was the best!  DH thought it was picture worthy.  I attached only half the picture to protect the innocent – ha!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelley
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 22:22:55

    So glad to hear from you! And also glad to hear things are going well. I hope the days pass quickly and 24 weeks and beyond will be here soon!

    Kelley

    Reply

  2. LisainSK
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 08:33:59

    Its as if Daisy knows and she is protecting you! Before you know it you will be at viability and beyond! Hang in there…

    Reply

  3. soulshine
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 14:59:34

    yes, so glad to hear from you!
    i don’t know if you can tell from your blog, but i check in quite often…

    sounds like things are going as good as can be! you’re doing great on the bedrest, things are moving along. in my experience, the 20’s went so slow… waiting for wk24 was so so slow, and then counting off each week, trying to get closer and closer. bedrest makes the time go slower too!

    daisy is so darn sweet! what a good doggie girl! takin’ care of momma. this is a very special time for her- she has you all to herself, a new facet of your relationship. very special. when i was on bedrest at home, i had all three dogs and sometimes my moms dog too, all up on the bed. bedrest is really a dog’s pace, though!

    i am so happy for you daisysmom. you look great (the half of your face anyway!). you’re doing so good. one day at a time… sounds trite but its true… you’re getting so close! i am really excited for you!

    ok, now, feel free to update a little more often, lol!
    thinking of you!

    Reply

  4. soulshine
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 15:02:46

    …sorry for all of the exclamation points… i counted 11. what is it with me and smiley faces and exclamation points? i am usually very careful not to be too smiley and exclamation point-ey, but i think i am just so happy and hopeful that you are pregnant, i can’t help it. here’s another, just to make it an even dozen… !

    Reply

    • daisysmom
      Mar 17, 2012 @ 09:39:18

      hey there, soulshine…..it doesn’t matter to me how many exclamation points you use. thank you for being there for me and for all of your well wishes! you are so nice!

Leave a Reply

