32w tomorrow

Sometimes I really can’t believe it, but I’ll be 32w tomorrow!  Seems like time has flown by since 24w, and since 28w.   4 weeks ago I was 28w, which seems like yesterday, so does that mean I’ll snap my finger and, dare say, be 36w?  I better get ready for this baby!

We had a little excitement this week – a hospital visit and my shower yesterday.

First, the hospital visit.

I had a bit of blood on my pantyliner on Tue morning, so we went to the ER.  I didn’t have any contractions, but thought it was the right thing to do.  It pretty much had stopped by the time they examined me.  They found no active source for the bleed, either via manual exam of the cervix/cerclage or via ultrasound (question whether or not my placenta moved or something).  There were no signs of active labor.  At first, the ER doc thought my cervix was a bit softened and dialated to 1 cm, but then the US showed the same cervical length of 1.6cm.  There was some differing opinions of whether or not there was a change or whether I was just dialated by the diameter of my cerclage (and always have been).  The OB that was on call from my practice wanted me to get the steroid shot, so I did, putting up not fight.  I figured I should get it in the event that this little bleed was some strange warning sign.  Since the shots (2 – 24 hrs apart) would elevate my blood sugar, their standard practice is that you stay there for 24 hrs beyond the second shot.  This is mainly because most people need some insulin after the shot and because they want to see how you do with the insulin.  This kept me there until Thur mid-day.   When I was discharged, I felt like I was being let out of prison.  To me, it seemed like overkill.  During my stay,  I did need insulin twice.  Their diabetic diet is much more liberal than I’ve been doing at home, so that may be another contributor as to why my numbers were high.  As of Thur afternoon (at home), my blood sugar control has been back to diet alone (although I may need a different, longer acting, insulin soon b/c my fasting numbers are just over their threshold – an issue I had before the steroid shots). 

I learned a few things in that visit…the new area for pregnant women being monitored is similar to the new L&D area.  The rooms are huge!, with plenty of space in the private bathroom, etc.  The beds are comfortable, but the pillows not so much.  I will probably take a pillow from home.   We also learned our little peanut already has hair!  How cute is that! …and her/his estimated weight as of Tue was 4lbs1oz with measurements right on track.  So, baby is doing well in my little ute.

Changing subjects to my shower…what a surreal experience.  I couldn’t believe I was going to my baby shower.  I still can’t believe I did.  Especially when I look at all the stuff in my office now.  We had a great time.  I ended up making a speech.  I thought I could do it without crying, but once I got to the second sentence, I lost it.  It took a few seconds, but I got myself somewhat together before continuing.  It wasn’t long, but the words, those emotions, the joy and pain all wrapped into one.  I wanted to summarize my experience and express my gratitude for everyone’s love and support.  I felt sadness/guilt for my aunts and family friends who couldn’t have kids and especially for my friend that I mentioned a few posts ago, who drove 3+ hrs to come to my shower.   My mom said something after me, but she somewhat lost it, too.  So much from so many years.  As you all know, 7 years and counting.  

It was also uplifting to hear stories from people of how they hoped for us for so long.  Sometimes we feel that people don’t notice the pain and anxiety we are going through during treatment or waiting for a match or waiting for a stroke of luck, but they really do.  They just don’t always know what to say. 

I didn’t dwell on those thoughts, however, I really enjoyed it.   People kept telling me that I’m all baby….well, I really don’t have my will power to attribute that to, I told them it is the GD diet.  My SIL is pregnant now and she keeps saying she wants to get on that diet.   I’ve been about the same weight for 5 weeks or so.  The baby is taking what it needs, my belly is getting bigger, and taking all the fat away from the other areas, such as my butt.  My doctor told me this happens with a lot of her GD patients….they stay the same for a while, maybe even losing a bit towards the end, and then don’t have as much to lose when the baby comes.  I guess if there is a silver lining to this, that must be it.   I don’t have all the pictures from the shower yet, but here’s one of me with my mom (sometimes I don’t know why I don’t put the whole picture up here, but something holds me back).  

We got a lot of good stuff.  People were so generous.   I know a lot of people would have preferred to know the gender to get the “perfect gift” but I just can’t help but think that this whole thing was a huge surprise and I want to keep it that way.  

So, now we will take stock of what we have and then determine what we need, especially for the first few months.  We’ll be making a run to Walmart or BJ’s to get Dr.eft, diapers, wipes, etc, and I’ll be putting my bag together soon.  Although I feel great, I know that there’s no telling when things will start happening.   🙂

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mytwolines
    May 27, 2012 @ 17:50:21

    Awwwww! Super congrats on your shower! You look amazing, even though we can only see part of you 🙂
    So many emotions and so many years coming…you are about to be in for the ride of your life and it will be wonderful!

    Reply

  2. Cassie
    May 28, 2012 @ 11:45:17

    I am just beaming from ear to ear for you, with a little bit of tears too. This has been so long coming for you, and it really seems like things are going so great. I’m so glad you had such a nice shower. Yes, definitely time to get your bag packed and buy some diapers. That’s all you really need! So happy for you!!!!!

    Reply

  3. soulshine
    May 28, 2012 @ 13:07:28

    wow! thanks for sharing about your shower… what an event, so long time in coming. i hope you received all the right baby gear and some fun loot, too. you and your mom look very happy there, a wonderful moment you probably both longed for and there it is! beautiful!

    so, baby gear- what did you get?!

    32w! and counting! i hope you can really relish in these last weeks of being pregnant. pregnancy is only one part, but since you are pregnant, you mind as well enjoy it for all it is worth! soon you will be having a baby! and then, raising a baby! how excited we all are for you.

    please keep updating, too! and have fun in this ‘nesting’ stage. 🙂

    Reply

  4. LisainSK
    May 28, 2012 @ 16:58:48

    Hey Daisy!! So great to hear from you!!! Wow…32 weeks already? You are rounding 3rd base now and into the home stretch!!

    Reply

  5. Kelley
    May 29, 2012 @ 12:51:34

    Wow I can’t believe you are already 32 weeks! So excited for you 🙂

    I remember doing the same at my shower with my son (my firstborn) and then my daughter. I just started talking and made it halfway through, then when I thanked my friend who was there (a ultrasound tech lol) I just lost it. I knew we wouldn’t be there without them and their whole team.

    Good for you for keeping the gender a surprise! I found out all 3 times! 😉 I have no patience lol

    Reply

  6. Flygirl
    May 29, 2012 @ 14:42:33

    You arein the home stretch! Beautiful picture. You are all baby! Reading your post reminded me of my own shower and how much love there was in that room on that day. I would have never imagined it, but it is something I will remember forever. I think it’s great that you are waiting to find out the sex – just like we did too! Who cares? Last night my little boy wore yellow pj’s with bees and when the nanny arrived this morning, she gushed over how cute he looked. The color my girl looks best in is blue…it makes her hair and eyes sparkle.

    Reply

  7. Patience
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 18:30:36

    Thinking of you my friend! Hoping that things are smooth sailing here to the moment you meet your little miracle!

    Reply

  8. soulshine
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 22:30:16

    hi… how did the week go? i hope things are going boringly well… would love an update!

    Reply

    • daisysmom
      Jun 08, 2012 @ 17:06:21

      hi soulshine – still hanging in. it was a relatively boring week. baby is estimated at 4lbs12oz as of yesterday. cerclage removal scheduled for 36w. will be 34w on monday! thanks for always thinking of me 🙂

  9. soulshine
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 13:17:57

    awesome! wow! the days are going by very fast now (for me anyway!)
    your baby is a great size right now! omg, i am so very excited for you, your mom, your husband, daisy, and that baby!! s/he is already so loved and wanted…
    just can’t say enough how happy i am for you.
    thanks for the update 🙂

    so, wow, 2 weeks and the cerclage is out… i guess that means that after it is out, baby can go ahead and come at any time? wowza! it is getting very real…
    will be thinking of you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

