Time Segments

First, the answer to the question in my last post’s title is YES….it is a fibroid.  They got part of it out 2 weeks ago.  I got put under and had outpatient surgery.  They took out the part that lost its blood supply and that was trying to come out, but the base was too big and my uterus is still too thin.  So, I go back in a few more weeks for an exam and we have plans to have it removed completely in Dec. 

Time Segments

That’s what our family life consists of now….short time segments of feeding/eating, playing, and sleeping.  I have always been a busy person, always doing something, not much couch time.  But, I am still adapting to being a new mom.  When the peanut is up after feeding I try to really engage him and teach him different things, take him outside, etc.  So, that leaves only his sleeping time for me to get things done.  I’ve heard this gets worse as they get older and start crawling/walking.   It would seem that I could get so much done being home all day, but I really can’t. 

I am in the process of refining my ability to prioritize.   Here’s what I want to do today:  pay bills, organize papers, laundry, make apple pie, cook fish for dinner, upload pictures to shutt.erfly and get some printed, set up my DH’s new digital photo frame that I got him for his birthday, finish a few more thank you cards, order some accessories for the nursery, etc.  What I want to do and what will get done are completely 2 different things.  I’m not complaining at all, don’t get me wrong…I’m just working through getting better at prioritizing.  Maybe if I wear my sneakers I can run to my next task and get things done even faster?  

We are still working on a daytime routine and I think once that gets more predictable things should improve.  My best friend has 4 kids and I used to wonder why she would always eat standing up, on the go to the next thing, and I can see why now. 

Even though we are still adapting, I wouldn’t change any of this for the world!

@#$% the laundry, I’m going to go make that apple pie!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. someday-soon
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 13:03:18

    I thought I knew what it was to be “busy” before too and found that there was a whole different level with little ones. Day by day you’ll come up with your new normal =) Good luck with your fibroid removal, sorry it couldn’t all happen at once.

    Reply

  2. soulshine
    Sep 30, 2012 @ 09:43:39

    segments… that’s a perfect way to describe it, and i think you have the best attitude (pie over laundry)! as far as i can tell, “segments” continue on for a least the next couple of years.

    just do your best. a lot of this daily drudgery is important, in its own way, but not as important in the big picture… a year from now, the fact that you had to wear dirty laundry or a bill was a couple days late or whatever, you won’t even remember it! but you will appreciate seeing all the pictures of your tired-self hanging out with peanut.

    glad you are posting and updating, i love reading about how things are going, and it sounds like things are going great!

    Reply

  3. LisainSK
    Oct 04, 2012 @ 14:46:14

    I came to the exact realization too. I had to quit measuring the productivity of my day with how many strikes came off the “to do list” otherwise my sanity was at stake. Good for you to figure this out…hope the apple pie was good!

    Reply

  4. Cassie
    Oct 06, 2012 @ 19:41:21

    Yes, definitely choose pie over laundry! I wouldn’t have gotten to 1/5 of the things on that list. In fact, my blogging and checking in on friends has really fallen by the wayside but I’m trying to get back into it. So glad to see all these lovely pictures and updates. I love the mural in the nursery. So happy for the whole family. Big hugs to all!

    Reply

  5. soulshine
    Oct 25, 2012 @ 14:12:08

    hey daisysmom!
    its been a month, how are things going over there in babyland?
    love to have an update! hope you are all well!

    Reply

  6. tiadreams
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 23:40:08

    Hi there Daisy Mom. I’m not sure how I found your blog but what an amazing story. I am so happy for you that after all those years of stress and emotional roller coasters you spontaneously got pregnant. I hope every month that will happen with me, but my one IVF cycle indicated I would never achieve pregnancy with my own eggs (no 5 day blasts, not even any 3 day survivors). I moved on to DE but even that didn’t work the first time. I am currently 5 days away from my second FET with DE and this is the last snowbaby left. I am really hoping amazing stories like yours will give me the energy I need for this to work. Love your blog. Enjoy mommyhood 🙂

    Reply

    • Anonymous
      Nov 07, 2012 @ 22:16:18

      Hi tiadreams – thanks for your comment. I will be keeping everything crossed for you that this is your cycle! Don’t ever give up on becoming a mommy…it will happen for you! I used to think about that poster I’d seen with a bird about to eat a frog but the frog is choking the bird and it said “don’t ever give up” (in fact, I think I posted about it before in my blog). It’s a long battle, but in the end I think those of us that really want to become a mommy will in one way or another. Wishing you strength and a short journey to motherhood.

  7. megavent stop snoring
    May 31, 2013 @ 13:05:15

    ADHD in children has grow to be a major situation of
    concern and this really is specially accurate for the kids all over the world who’re misdiagnosed. In America, you can find now much more youngsters on synthetic medicines especially to contend with what is believed to become ADHD. But as time goes by and much more sleep associated problems are ultimately becoming researched, the findings have already been astounding in how snoring is now a probably culprit for the child’s
    everyday hyperactive behavior.

    Reply

  8. snore.com
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 08:30:57

    When someone falls asleep, they’ll sooner or later progress into a deep sleep. At this time, the muscles positioned in the roof from the mouth begin to loosen up. The muscles within the throat and the tongue also unwind. When these muscles and tissues within the throat loosen up sufficient, they’re able to begin
    to vibrate when the person breathes. This is actually triggered by an obstruction with the airway
    simply because the muscles are so relaxed. Additionally, people with an already narrow airway may
    snore even more simply because their airflow will become far more forceful.

    When this occurs, snoring will become louder.

    Reply

  9. snoring tongue
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 03:04:52

    ADHD in youngѕters has grow to be a maјоr іssue
    of concern and this really is specifically true for the kis around the globe thyat are mіsdiagnoseԁ.
    In America, уou can finԁ now more children on synthetiс
    medicines especially to contend with what’s believed to bе ADHD.

    But as time goes by and far more sleep related issueѕ are lastly being reseaгched, the findings hаve already been astounding in how snoгіng is now a probably culprіt to the child’s everуday hyperactive behaѵior.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

