What A Year

A year ago, almost exactly, we conceived our son.  We had no idea where our lives were going, but we were working towards building our family.   We were about to hit the jackpot with a miracle conception that would decide to stick around and become our baby boy.  

I read my Halloween post from last year.  I don’t usually go back to those because it brings back the pain, but I decided to read that one.  I sometimes feel like it was yesterday and sometimes feel like it was all wiped away.  I feel so much for the women still fighting the battle.  My heart is with you.   I hope and pray that you will soon have your baby in your arms.

Sometimes I look at my son when someone else is holding him and think, “is he really mine?…yes, that baby is mine”  It’s still strange to me.  Sometimes I get so wrapped up in the day to day grind that I forget that this was a true miracle.   I tell myself to stop and smell the roses, so to speak, to be present and enjoy the time no matter how crazy it gets. 

The little peanut is 4.5 months old, is thriving, and is sleeping well.  He is in the 80%ile for length and weight.  He sleeps about 10 hrs straight at night (usually 9-10pm to 7-8am).  He has a good morning nap, then the rest of the naps are short cat naps (2-3 times during the afternoon and early evening).  He is almost sitting up on his own (very cute) and does well with tummy time.  He is also “standing”, pushing up on his feet when I pull him up from sitting.   He spits up a ton and creates a lot of laundry.  We call him “Sir Spits-a-lot”.  He is still exclusively breast fed (dr. says to start solids at 6 mos).  He is a happy little fellow. 

But…….he has a bit of a flat spot on the back of his head – right side.  I think it was from using the rock-n-play sleeper almost exclusively for sleep up until he was 9 weeks and also from the fact that he is such a good sleeper.  We had his head measured and he doesn’t qualify for a helmet, but one measurement is close.  So, we will go back in 4 weeks for a recheck and decide then.   Ever since I noticed it weeks ago, I started propping him up on his side for naps and at the beginning of his night sleep (until I go to bed) and have recently started to have him on his belly for a few naps.  I’ve ramped up tummy time and don’t take him in the car seat or stroller for very long.  I am borrowing a friend’s carrier and using that for walks, etc.  Basically, I’m trying to do everything I can to keep him off the back of his head until the next measurement.  I am keeping my fingers crossed.

We had a fun time last week with Halloween.  We didn’t suffer much with Hurric.ane San.dy (lost power for 1.5 days).  Here’s what we were…as you can see from my costume, I didn’t have enough time to come up with a really good costume for the peanut.  He’ll have a better showing next year!!! 

Hope you are all well.  Thanks for still checking on me and for posting your comments.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisainSK
    Nov 09, 2012 @ 21:15:06

    Your costume made me roar out loud! That’s an awesome costume and sooo true! Your little guy is adorable!! Great to hear from you.

    Reply

  2. MyTwoLines
    Nov 10, 2012 @ 14:02:58

    Love the pic of your little skeleton!

    I hope he doesn’t have to wear the helmet…poor guy!

    Reply

  3. soulshine
    Nov 15, 2012 @ 12:35:48

    really, what a year! that was one of the things that i always told myself in the darkest of times… ‘in a year, things may be different, in a good way…’.
    i am so glad that you had a hugely different- in a GREAT way- year! i can remember feeling so desolate and desperate *for* you, and i know you must have felt that 1000 times over. but… a year later, look at that babushaka!

    i re-read your post from last halloween, it got me so teary… you have been thru so much. i am full of joy, seriously, that you found your path to being a parent.

    it is so good to not get caught up in the grind- typical and easy to do, but really, i have those same moments (2+ years out) when i look at my son and think ‘really? really?!!’. it puts everything into perspective, immediately.

    you, and rb-k, and mo, and mtl… i waited and hoped for so long that things would eventually work into your favor. i think of you all with your babies and i smile like a maniac and give a two-fisted, middle-fingered shake at the crappy universe and say ‘too bad, sucka-universe… you missed them!’. sorry if that sounds weird! and it is an awful reality that there are many women who i quietly follow, while they wait and try for parenthood, for what seems like forever. i hope that this is *their* year, that they will look back and say ‘what a dark time, and what lightness that followed’.

    thanks so much for the update on your peanut! keep posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

